uShop English (U.S.) for 179!

uStorekeeper English (U.S.) for 149!

 Products
       uTest
       uReserve
       uShop
       uStorekeeper
       uGolf
       uDirectory
       uSignIn
 Tech Support
       Support Policy
       Knowledge Base
            uTest
            uReserve
            uShop
            uStorekeeper
            uGolf
            uDirectory
            uSignIn
       Documentation
       Reference Sites
 Legal
       Software Piracy
       Legal Notices
       Privacy Policy
       Licensing
 Miscellaneous
       Reseller Info
       Contact Us
       Site Map
Clearing Buyer Information

Knowledge Base Lobby : uShop Support Conference : Programmer Tips
Nov-21-17 12:18 PM EST
Original Message
Clearing Buyer Information
Author Jason Gasper on 01-08-2001 at 17:40 (EST)
I have loaded U-Shop onto my web site, and am very pleased so far, but I have run into one unexpected issue.

The URL is: http://208.56.150.240/

My problem is that when I leave (totally close out Netscape and re-boot) after placing an order, and then come back to the shop to test placing a new order, all the personal information I typed in previously (Name, Address, etc.) on the order page is still there for my new order.

My concern is that every new customer will be able to see the last customer's demographic information.

I know I can expect this if I move from one site to another within a single browser session, but I didn't think this was what I should expect if I move from one computer to another, or close down Netscape and then start it up again.

Comments, suggestions?
E-MAIL AUTHOR | TABLE OF CONTENTS

Table Of Contents
  RE: Clearing Buyer Information Bill Weiner, 2001-01-09 07:00:03 (1)

Messages In This Discussion
         1. RE: Clearing Buyer Information
        Author Bill Weiner on 01-09-2001 at 07:00 (EST)
The ability to "remember customer information" is a new feature added to version 3.3. It works by setting a cookie on the customer's browser with the customer's billing/shipping address. Cookies are stored on each individual's browser... so no user will get someone elses billing/shipping address. It is just specific to each user... with the order forms being clear the first time a customer buys something from you... and the order forms being automatically initialized the next time the same customer buys something from you (so they don't have to continuously enter all of their information each time they purchase something from you).

This new feature, by default, is always on... however, if you really want to turn it off, then you can do so by opening the "ushop-lib.pl" file (with any TEXT editor) and changing the following line (which is located at the very top of that file) from:

$remember_customer = "YES";

to

$remember_customer = "NO";

But again, there is no worry about other customer's seeing previous customer's address information because cookies are stored on each individual's browser.
TABLE OF CONTENTS

© 2003 Microburst Technologies, Inc.