www.uburst.com www.uburst.com

"version 3.46 and templates"

Go back to the LobbyClick here to Go Back to Main ListingClick here to see helpClick here to Search the Forum

General Questions
Forum Type: Public
Moderator: edmunds
Time Zone: EST
Printer Friendly Format
Original Message
 
"version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Marcel Emmen on Apr-22-02 at 06:16 PM (EST)
Hi there,

For a consistent look of my site, i have change the display and template files which are in the classes directory. This was working fine until version 3.46

With 3.46 the header of the display_cart file is getting damage with netscape 6.2 within IE the page looks fine but with netscape the page is corrupt at the top?

Is this because of the onload event in the BODY tag? and if so do you have a solution?

This is the page checkout form address if you want to look!
http://www.emmenmode.nl/nl/afrekenen.html

Sorry at the moment the text is only in Dutch but this is not important for this problem

Thank you
Marcel

Click to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents

 Table of Contents

RE: version 3.46 and templates, Bill Weiner, Apr-23-02, (1)
RE: version 3.46 and templates, Marcel Emmen, Apr-23-02, (2)
RE: version 3.46 and templates, Bill Weiner, Apr-24-02, (3)
RE: version 3.46 and templates, Marcel Emmen, Apr-24-02, (4)
RE: version 3.46 and templates, Bill Weiner, Apr-24-02, (5)
RE: version 3.46 and templates, Marcel Emmen, Apr-25-02, (6)
RE: version 3.46 and templates, Bill Weiner, Apr-25-02, (7)
RE: version 3.46 and templates, Marcel Emmen, Apr-26-02, (8)

 

 
Click here to goto Click here to goto the Lobby
Messages in this discussion
 
1 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Apr-23-02 at 05:05 AM (EST)
I just took a look at your site with Netscape 4.7, Netscape 6.2 and IE 5.5... and the "Display Cart" page appeared fine each time. Am I missing something the problem? Or did you already resolve the problem?
Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
2 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Marcel Emmen on Apr-23-02 at 01:50 PM (EST)
Hi,

If you press the applet button with the text: afhandelen bestelling the next page the upper menu is completly shaked...

I only see this with Netscape 6.2.2 within IE it's correct

Marcel

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
3 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Apr-24-02 at 05:28 AM (EST)
Ok, I see the problem now (I think I was using Netscape 6.0 the last time I was trying your site).

Anyway, the problem is related to using the "link" parameter of the uShopOrderButton applet:

&l;t param name="link" value="display_cartnl.html" >

As of uShop 3.45, you should not be using that "link" parameter because uShop must be able to automatically determine the browser type and the JVM type and then link to one of the new "display_cart.html" or the "display_cart2.html" pages. So to correct the problem, get rid of that "link" parameter of your uShopOrderButton applet... and let uShop automatically use the standard "display_cart.html" and the "display_cart2.html" pages.

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
4 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Marcel Emmen on Apr-24-02 at 05:34 AM (EST)
Hi there,

That's easy'er sad then done! I use this link parameter because i have a site in two different languages! English and Dutch. Therefore both have there own display_cart page and display_product page.

Is there no other solution you have? The link parameter was a option in version 3.40 and early if you don't longer support this then how i'm i suppose to use two languages?

Marcel

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
5 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Apr-24-02 at 07:53 PM (EST)
It's not that we don't want to support a "link" parameter... the factor is that new browsers (IE with the Java plugin and Netscape 6.2) require that the display cart page be dependent on each user's browser type. So it can't be hardcoded into the applet... but determined dynamically.

As for supporting two languages... how do the customers select the language now? If you use two different classes directories... then that is exactly how it would be handled again. The display cart pages will be loaded from the appropriate languages classes directory.

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
6 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Marcel Emmen on Apr-25-02 at 03:09 PM (EST)
You mean #1 classes directorie for Dutch and a other one for English? Like classes_nl classes_en

Isn't this giving problems? because you advise to use classes as default! Also whats happen if i do this and visitors switch from one to a the other language? Will the browser not give any problem because of the same java applets on two different locations?

Marcel

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
7 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Apr-25-02 at 08:37 PM (EST)
You can keep the recommended "../classes/" codebase/directory structure and maintain two independent languages by just putting each language's "classes" directory in a corresponding subdirectory for each language.

For example:

You could make a subdirectory for your English html pages:

http://www.yourdomain.com/english/store/

And a subdirectory within that directory for the English "class" files:

http://www.yourdomain.com/english/classes/

And you can do something similar your Dutch html pages:

http://www.yourdomain.com/dutch/store/

And the Dutch class files:

http://www.yourdomain.com/dutch/classes/


This sort of directory structure will basically make two independent stores/shopping carts.

Items added in the "Dutch" store... will not be maintained if the customers changes to the "English" store.

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
8 . "RE: version 3.46 and templates"
Posted by Marcel Emmen on Apr-26-02 at 03:26 AM (EST)
Thanks for all the help i will go and work on it

Marcel

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents


Archive This Thread: Admin and Moderator OnlyRemove This Thread: Admin and Moderator Only
Click here to goto Click here to goto the Lobby

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Questions or problems regarding this bulletin board should be directed to Webmaster
©1997-1999 by DCScripts. All rights reserved.