www.uburst.com www.uburst.com

"Netscape 6 hangs up"

Go back to the LobbyClick here to Go Back to Main ListingClick here to see helpClick here to Search the Forum

Applets are not being displayed
Forum Type: Public
Moderator: edmunds
Time Zone: EST
Printer Friendly Format
Original Message
 
"Netscape 6 hangs up"
Posted by ray hewitt on Jun-24-02 at 08:56 PM (EST)
After about loading the third page, the applets seems to hang up the browser from loading any more, only in Netscape 6

www.engravedpens.com

Any help would be appreciated!

Ray

(kindly CC my email if you reply: ray@engravedpens.com)

Click to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents

 Table of Contents

RE: Netscape 6 hangs up, Bill Weiner, Jun-25-02, (1)
any other ideas, ray hewitt, Jun-27-02, (2)
RE: any other ideas, Bill Weiner, Jun-28-02, (3)
Netscape 6 Hangs, Ron Harter, Jun-28-02, (4)
I am using, ray hewitt, Jun-29-02, (5)
RE: I am using, Bill Weiner, Jul-01-02, (6)
RE: I am using, Bill Weiner, Jul-01-02, (7)
Netscape Problems, Dan, Sep-28-02, (8)

 

 
Click here to goto Click here to goto the Lobby
Messages in this discussion
 
1 . "RE: Netscape 6 hangs up"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Jun-25-02 at 04:31 AM (EST)
Whenever someone is having a problem with the applet, I recommend trying trying out our online demo at:

http://www.uburst.com/uShop/demo/index.html

... because we know that demo is configured correctly and can thus help determine if it a problem with your browser or your store's configuration.

I took a quick look at your store with Netscape 6.2 and didn't see it lock up ... until I went to place the order... In which case, it looked like the problem that was corrected in version 3.45:

http://www.uburst.com/uShop/updates.html

So I would recommend making sure that you are using the latest version of uShop.

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
2 . "any other ideas"
Posted by ray hewitt on Jun-27-02 at 01:52 PM (EST)
Thanks Bill,

I upgraded to 3.50 today, but it still locks up after about 3 pages...The first 2 or 3 pages load fine, but the applets stump it on the 3rd or 4th page.

Can you see if you can order or not now that I have upgraded? Or browse around the site and see if you lock up too

IE is working fine, netscape will not.

Ray

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
3 . "RE: any other ideas"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Jun-28-02 at 05:09 AM (EST)
What exact version of Netscape 6 are you using? (If it is Netscape 6.1... that version had many problems that Netscape fixed by 6.2. Version 6.2 is much better.)

Also, what OS are you using?

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
4 . "Netscape 6 Hangs"
Posted by Ron Harter on Jun-28-02 at 09:28 AM (EST)
I have had similar problems with Netscape 6 but usually if I get in a hurray and don't wait for the pages to completely load. On my sites www.alltronics.com and www.excess-solutions.com it takes Netscape 6 four to five times longer than IE to load (even after the pages have been cached). Even Mozilla and Opera are faster than Netscape but much slower than Internet Explorer.

This seems to be because of the Java rather than the html. Apparently people have such negative feelings about Netscape 6 that they now have a pre-release version of Netscape 7 available for download.

AOL who now owns Netscape has a beta version of AOL 7.0 using Netscape 6 but they haven't done much with it. They recently started beta testing AOL 8.0 and guess what, it uses Internet Explorer.

P.S. I am running Windows XP on a Pentium 4 1.8GHz connected to the internet via DSL.

Ron Harter

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
5 . "I am using"
Posted by ray hewitt on Jun-29-02 at 01:40 PM (EST)
Netscape 6.2.3

on windows XP machine.

Still no luck ...

Ray

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
6 . "RE: I am using"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Jul-01-02 at 05:35 AM (EST)
I'm still not seeing the problem on your site.... but as Ron mentioned, are you letting the page load all the way before switching to another page? You shouldn't have to do that, but maybe for some reason that is causing a problem with your browser.
Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
7 . "RE: I am using"
Posted by Bill Weiner on Jul-01-02 at 05:41 AM (EST)
I'm still not seeing the problem on your site.... but as Ron mentioned, are you letting the page load all the way before switching to another page? You shouldn't have to do that, but maybe for some reason that is causing a problem with your browser.
Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents
 
8 . "Netscape Problems"
Posted by Dan on Sep-28-02 at 07:38 AM (EST)
changing the codebase from
../classes/

to the full path seems to clear up some problems as well.
http://www.yourdomain.com/classes/

see
http://www.uburst.com/uShop/codebase.html

Remove this Message: Administrator and Moderator onlyClick to Send Alert Message to the Administrator Click to edit this messageClick to EMail Click here to reply to this messageClick here to reply to this message with quotesClick to goto the Table of Contents


Archive This Thread: Admin and Moderator OnlyRemove This Thread: Admin and Moderator Only
Click here to goto Click here to goto the Lobby

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Questions or problems regarding this bulletin board should be directed to Webmaster
©1997-1999 by DCScripts. All rights reserved.